Thank You For Visiting This Weblog   Leave a comment

Above:  My Desk, June 21, 2017

Photograph by Kenneth Randolph Taylor

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

ORDINARY TIME DEVOTIONS is the final part of a trilogy of seasonally defined devotional weblogs I maintain.  I cover the Advent-Christmas-Epiphany sequence in one weblog and Lent and Easter in a second weblog.

Once upon a time I wrote according to daily lectionaries.  I have abandoned that practice, at least for a few years.  For church year 2016-2017 I wrote based on Year D (2012), by Timothy Matthew Slemmons, so I prepared posts mostly for Sundays, with some holy days on other days of the week.  The process of preparing these new devotions was quite rapid; my muse was singing.  For church year 2017-2018 I wrote according to Beyond the Lectionary (2013), a similar project by David Ackerman, a minister in the United Church of Christ.  I have also read of the existence of A Four Year Lectionary (1990), by the Joint Liturgical Group.  That sounds like a wonderful plan from which to write eventually.  So does the Four-Year Lectionary (2011), by Will Humes, a United Methodist minister. Avoiding weekday lectionaries for a while will permit me to focus on renovating my Ecumenical Calendar of Saints’ Days and Holy Days at SUNDRY THOUGHTS, my original weblog.   After I complete another phase of the the renovation of my Ecumenical Calendar I will want to pursue other projects, for I have created list of projects to prepare for and post to BLOGA THEOLOGICA.  Then I will resume the process of renovating the Ecumenical Calendar.

I have organized this weblog for ease of navigation.  There is a search bar, of course.  Furthermore, the categories are self-explanatory and the tags are helpful.  Beyond that, I have created monthly guide posts in which I have provided hyperlinks for devotions per date:

  1. June 2017,
  2. July 2017,
  3. August 2017,
  4. September 2017,
  5. October 2017,
  6. November 2017,
  7. December 2017,
  8. May 2018,
  9. June 2018,
  10. July 2018,
  11. August 2018,
  12. September 2018,
  13. October 2018,
  14. November 2018, and
  15. December 2018.

Creating these devotional posts is an act of prayer–one especially suited to me, a contemplative who is content to spend much of his time alone.  The combination of my introversion and intellectualism causes me to tilt away from Evangelicalism, which is, in my experience, relentlessly extroverted and generally anti-intellectual.  (Maybe I have spent time around the wrong variety of Evangelicals.)  My inherent introversion makes me amenable to varieties of Christianity that encourage contemplative prayer, respect monasticism, and celebrate holy hermits.  The reality of my brain is that it does not meditate well, for it remains busy.  Nevertheless, that fact helps me to sit in silence and ponder the scriptures and to write based on those thoughts.  Those are acts of contemplative prayer, of a sort.

Part of the wonder of the Internet is the fact that these activities, when I convert them into a blogging project in which I engage alone at home, can benefit people far away.  For this fact I thank God, whom I seek to glorify via this project.  May something you, O reader, find here benefit you spiritually.

Pax!

KENNETH RANDOLPH TAYLOR

JUNE 21, 2017 COMMON ERA

THE FEAST OF SAINT ALOYSIUS GONZAGA, JESUIT

THE FEAST OF CARL BERNHARD GARVE, GERMAN MORAVIAN MINISTER, LITURGIST, AND HYMN WRITER

THE FEAST OF SAINTS JOHN JONES AND JOHN RIGBY, ROMAN CATHOLIC MARTYRS

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Leave a Reply

